Boys’ First Team

Sunday, March 27, 2005; Page PW11

Boys’ First Team

Brad Blair, Woodbridge, Sr. — Repeat All-Extra placed fifth and seventh in 50- and 100-yard freestyle, respectively, as Vikings placed second at Northwestern Region meet. Team leader placed second in those events in Cardinal District; at states, finished 16th in 100 free and 19th in 50 free. Will attend Virginia.

Jacob Goodfellow, Osbourn, Soph. — Northwestern Region 200-yard freestyle champion placed sixth in the event at states. Placed second at regionals and eighth at states in 100 free. Won Cedar Run District 200 free title and finished third in 100 butterfly.

Kevin Koehr, Seton, Jr. — Won National Catholic 100-yard backstroke title and finished second in the event at the Virginia State Independent Schools meet. Team captain was named Delaney Athletic Conference most valuable swimmer after setting four conference records at conference meet.

Philip LaRosa, Osbourn, Fr. — Northwestern Region 500-yard freestyle champion also finished 12th at state meet in the event. Placed sixth and 21st, respectively, in the 200 individual medley at regionals and states. Second in Cedar Run District in 500 free and 200 IM.

Matt Marquart, Battlefield, Jr. — Cedar Run District champion in the 100-yard butterfly and 100 backstroke finished third and fifth in those events, respectively, at Northwestern Region meet. Repeat All-Extra placed 10th in 100 fly and 19th in 100 back at states.

Thomas Scovel, Forest Park, Sr. — Won Northwestern Region and Cardinal District 100-yard freestyle titles and placed 11th at states in the event. Won district title in 50 freestyle and finished second at regionals. Placed 17th at states in 50 free.

Chris Watson, Gar-Field, Sr. — Cardinal District 500-yard freestyle champion finished third and 11th in the event, respectively, at Northwestern Region and state meets. Placed second in district and seventh in region in 20o individual medley. Plans to swim at Marymount University.

Boys’ Honorable Mention

Rashad Badr, Stonewall Jackson, Jr.; Nathan Biglin, Woodbridge, Jr.; Nevin Cook, Seton, Fr.; Joshua Emert, Gar-Field, Soph.; David Gartin, Osbourn, Jr.; Mike Graveen, Osbourn Park, Soph.; Tom Maxwell, Battlefield, Soph.; Matt Penning, Woodbridge, Fr.; Scott Russell, Woodbridge, Soph.; Matthew Tonnesen, Gar-Field, Sr.; Jamie Way, Forest Park, Jr.

Click to access the login or register cheese